11229562_1125223040837621_3684584021684328862_oEarlier this month, Lauren Mayberry of the Scottish synthpop trio Chvrches spoke with Alt 98.7 and gave up some some details about their hotly anticipated new album, Open Every Eye. Open Every Eye will be the the sophomore follow-up to their much acclaimed 2013 debut, The Bones Of What You Believe.

With this announcement, we were also treated to the album’s first single, ‘Leave a Trace’. Right away ‘Leave a Trace’ sounds like a Chvrches song, but as an evolution of their sound, not a rehashing of what worked on their previous LP. Returning are the electro-pop synths and thumping percussion. However, unlike with their last album, the vocals are more pronounced and not as buried under the production. It is a much welcomed change, Mayberry’s vocals sound more raw and unapologetic, fitting in line with the theme of the song. If ‘Leave a Trace’ is any indicator, fans of Bones will feel right at home with Open Every Eye.

Open Every Eye is set to drop on September 25th via Glassnote Records. You can purchase ‘Leave a Trace’ now on iTunes. Chvrches are currently in the midst of hitting the summer festival circuit, check out dates below, as well as a tracklisting for Open Every Eye.

Announced 2015 tour dates:

08/21 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop

08/22 – Chelmsford, UK @ V Festival

08/23 – Stafford, UK @ V Festival

09/04 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic

09/12 – Berlin, DE @ Lollapalooza Berlin

09/26 – Boston, MA @ Boston Calling

09/27 – Washington, DC @ Landmark Music Festival

10/18 – San Francisco, CA @ Treasure Island Music Festival

11/06 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest


Open Every Eye tracklist:

  1. Never Ending Circles
  2. Leave A Trace
  3. Keep You On My Side
  4. Make Them Gold
  5. Clearest Blue
  6. High Enough To Carry You Over
  7. Empty Threat
  8. Down Side Of Me
  9. Playing Dead
  10. Bury It
  11. Afterglow
  12. Getaway
  13. Follow You
  14. Bow Down